Getting Started with Living Card Games!

Home Get Started With... Getting Started with Living Card Games!

What Are Living Card Games?

Unlike collectable card games (CCGs), Living Card Games (LCGs) are ones where you there are no boosters or other randomised products to buy, and there’s not rarity or secondary market for cards. Whenever you buy a product for a LCG you know whats going to be inside it and you usually get a full play set of each card. As LCGs are not limited to competitive play, there is are many cooperative LCGs available where you are playing with other players, not against them.


What Livings Card Games are there?

While there are many on the market, the biggest producer of them is Fantasy Flight Games who make a large number of card games, board games, and role play games sometime based on their own worlds and sometimes using licenses for other well-established properties.

The two LCGs supported at Big Dog Books are:

  • Arkham Horror: The Card Game
  • Marvel Champions


Arkham Horror



Arkham Horror is a cooperative game for 1-4 players set in Fantasy Flight Games “Arkham Files” universe which takes a steer from classic horror fiction of authors such as H. P. Lovecraft, Algernon Blackwood, and R. W. Chambers. This game has players take on the role of different Investigators and work together to play through different campaigns that will last up between 1 and 8 games as they try to solve – and survive – some terrible eldritch mystery.

The game starts with the Core Set which provides players with the first 5 characters, the cards they need to build player decks, and a 3-part adventure that takes the players from a haunted house, to a city besieged by a cult, to a confrontation with evil in a lost wood…

From there you can then chose from the different campaigns on offer through Deluxe boxes. Deluxe boxes come with another 5 character options as well as the first 2 chapters of a new story which can then be continued through adding chapters called Mythos Packs until you have reached the end of the story. There are also stand-alone adventures that can be played as single games or added into an ongoing campaign to make last longer.

One deluxe box is released a year with Mythos packs coming roughly every 2 months until the story is complete, along with 1 standalone adventure release each year. There’s not need to tackle the stories in any particular order, and there’s no need to have anything other than the Core Set to play the game so you can dive in as deep as you like and still enjoy the game and since it can be played solo or with up to 3 other people it makes a great board game too!

Once a year Arkham Horror has an Invocation Event where a unique challenge is presented to players – we host these nights in Big Dog Books and participants can come away with big prizes… if they survive the night.


Marvel Champions



Marvel Champions is the newest LCG on the market and sees players take on the role of iconic Marvel Characters and work together to battle infamous villains. The Core set for the game has Spider-Man, Captain Marvel, Iron Man, Black Panther, and She-Hulk facing off against Rhino, The Klaw, and Ultron.

Expansions for this game are sold as complete Hero or Villain decks – so you can pick up the entire Captain America deck if you want to play a new hero or the Green Goblin deck if you want a new challenge!

As with Arkham Horror this game is also for 1-4 players so you can either play it solo or join up with friends for a more frantic battle. We hold meet-up nights on Wednesdays at Big Dog Books for Marvel Champions with monthly event nights where you can win promotional cards and playmats!